Skip to content
January 23, 2018 / Tetrahedroseph

One Museum a Month Challenge Part 1 of 12: The Broad! Featuring advice, architecture, and lots of Gifs.

The museum for my first post in this challenge series will be The Broad!

https://www.thebroad.org/


This is an all new challenge concept that I think I am inventing now. The goal is to have an additional constructive reason to visit museums/places of education and culture. Kind of like the destination for art thing I talk about sometimes.

These are the rules:

  1. Nominations are not necessarily and if you fall for one, don’t let it scare off a whale.

  2. Quit your day job but don’t expect Steemit to save you from laziness or procrastination.

  3. Send me all your money because I’m not a dick head. Sarcasm is different.

  4. Museums, libraries and gardens qualify.

  5. Locations may be used more than once if you make it look slick. Try to keep it in the same month at least.

  6. Change the rules anytime and don’t stress over other user’s opinions. Hypocrisy is just how we are I guess.


No trip to the museum is complete without a little freeway action. There’s lots of traffic here in Los Angeles, but it starts to decongest around 10:30 AM. If you’re going to go out before that, make sure you leave by 6 AM 😳 or earlier. By the way, The Broad opens at 10am on Saturdays and Sundays and at 11 AM on the week days.

This is The Broad and it’s located in Los Angles California!

The Broad is a contemporary art museum. They also have what is called a “postwar” collection. The museum was founded by Eli and Edith Broad.


< a href=”https://www.thebroad.org/”>https://www.thebroad.org/


My advice:

  • Expect parking to be $20. Get your moneys worth and explore the area around the museum also.
  • Don’t forget about parking validation before you leave.
  • Use the guided tour available in their app. The Broad by The Broad https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-broad/id1036061961?mt=8
  • If you see a pleasantly animated female VSA with short hair (color varies) giving a random presentation, listen and enjoy her performance/presentation. 👍 (she did a great presentation of Jean-Michel Basquiat’s work)
  • Visitors Service Associates (VSAs) are usually around for mini tours, parking validation, and other quirky explanations to my weird questions. They are all dressed in all black and easy to find, so don’t be afraid to ask them questions.
  • It’s a small intimate museum that gets very busy. Book your tickets early.
  • Take both the elevator and the stairs. To the second and third floor.
  • Bathrooms are on the second floor.
  • Wash your hands and don’t expect food inside the museum.
  • Tell them my mom said your cool.

Before going inside I had to wait outside. It was actually raining in Los Angles that day. I was inspired to feature the building itself. The Broad is a very interesting structure because most of it is a vault. It was designed to accommodate a gallery area, a vault, and easy access for awkward pieces to be moved around. The Broad is know for allowing their collection pieces to be loaned out to other museums throughout the world.

The outside walls as seen in my Gifs, make up why is known as the veil. It covers the vault section of the building. The main gallery on the top floor (roof of the vault) is also under this veil. It looks like porous/mesh/vanilla flavored chicken wire to me. The lines it creates are fun in contrast to the neighboring structures.

Eventually, I got inside and became so engrossed with the art that I neglected my camera phone. Yikes, that’s weird to say.

Anyway, I found the piece featured in the gif above by Takashi Murakami interesting enough to get my camera out because of the year it was made. It looks more like something from the 80’s in my little brain, but actually it’s from 1962!

There was plenty of art interesting enough to make me want to take my camera out. I refrained so that I could simply enjoy the moment.

NEXT: Destination unknown. I will definitely have a museum or… Japanese garden… yeah, something fun. 🎃

Thanks for reading and upvoting. I hope you found this fun and helpful. Let me know if you have questions.

Peace

Leave a comment